Lessons from the 52 Hike Challenge

I’m such a dork. I love these types of posts. Knowing what I liked and would do differently is as important to me as the activity.

  1. When I planned hikes I was more likely to complete them, anticipate them, and feel excited about the challenge
  2. The months where I assumed that hikes would just “happen” were the months that I struggled the most to get out the door and made excuses for myself
  3. I need to plan to hike during the holidays. Carving out time for myself to relax and be restored is more important during the holidays, not less. I need to remember to schedule down time for myself
  4. When I felt crappy hiking really helped get me out of the funk. Even if I initially didn’t want to go. I was always happier for having done the hike. (This is also how I feel about running but I can’t seem to make that a habit, yet)
  5. The idea that I could give up and walk away floated through my brain towards the end of the challenge. After all, we had done a lot of hiking this year. I’m glad that I continued to make hiking for me a priority.
  6. Balancing kid hikes and adult hikes is important and I should probably plan them out more. Maybe one of each a week?
  7. The kids and I both need to get out of the house on a daily basis. Somedays that looks a lot like goofing off in our yard. Making a concentrated effort to go somewhere daily doesn’t seem reasonable right now, but every other day might be doable.
  8. I still need and want to do a completely solo hike. Mostly to prove that I can. It seems a bit silly that I’m having to make that much of a plan for it.
  9. And I don’t finish these lists very well
About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

