Happy Birthday to Me

One of the great joys of my adulthood has been my birthday. I love getting to decide what to do. So I roped my neighbors and my family into a 4.5 mile hike for hike 45.

We headed to Lapham Peak State Park to hike a segment of the Ice Age trail. We walked from the Ice Age parking lot up to the observation tower. Then up the tower and back down by a different trail.

This hike was a bit of a doozy. The ground was super muddy. So the trail was a mess. Warren refused to walk much of the way up. We took a straight shot back down, and that was a solid decision. This trail was less beaten up and much easier to navigate. Warren walked part of the way back down. He loved it. Graham walked all but a smidgen of the 4.5 miles.

I’ve never been so happy to have an extra change of clothes in the car. It was pretty hot for February in Wisconsin, 65 degrees. I was in a tank top at one point. It was so amazing to celebrate my birthday this way. Glad I could wrangle the family into this hiking game.

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

