Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it

Anytime we dig ourselves out from the trenches it always takes a bit of time. February seems to grab a lot of people and be a bit of a downer. It’s not exactly the easiest time of the year to unfunk oneself. However, I’m really appreciating the slower pace of this month. I’m focusing on getting down on the ground with the kids. I need to walk some miles in order to exercise, so I’ve added a stroller walk into our routines. But the work of being mindful in our explorations is just as important, so we’ve been at a wandering pace.img_6054

In these slower days, I can wait while they climb the stairs. I can listen as the water begins to flow underneath the ice. We waddle like penguins on the ice. We run back and forth across bridges and spend time just staring at what is underneath. I can point out the woodpecker tapping on the trees. I can talk about why hollow trees fall over. I exclaim over and over how good it feels to bask in the sunshine. img_6051

I can marvel at the beauty of the ice. I can walk as slow as my 1-year-old.

Here I am. I’m being slow. I’m embracing how it good it feels.

Hike 43 Done! 1 more mile. 88.5 miles so far!

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

