#RockingMotherhood

I’ve been tagged to write a post about why I’m #RockingMotherhood I’m struggling a bit in general right now- so this was a really hard and good exercise for me. I’ve been really letting the exercise portion of my health routine slide, and it’s made a noticeable difference in my life. I’m attempting to see the positives right now so I’ve let the thoughts sort of come to me over the week and this is what I’ve come up with.img_9084

  1. I’m great at keeping my kids on schedule. Yeah, I know. Everyone and their brother is anti-schedule these days. But my kids do better when breakfast is at 6, lunch is at 11:30, nap takes place at noon and bedtime is 7:00 ish. I do better as a mom when I know what to expect. I’m not a slave to my schedule, I flex when I need to, but it serves us well.
  2. I offer my kids unstructured play time. We goof off a lot. Eventually, I’m going to hear them say I’m bored. It’ll be good for them.
  3. We go OUTSIDE! Almost daily. We hike or just play around. The kids get dirty. I want them to love the smell of dirt. I try to push myself to get outside more with them and show them what it means to love being outside. I learn so much by watching their enthusiasm for the smallest thing. Shoveling snow is their favorite chore.
  4. I read. I read to them. I read my own books in front of them. I read and I read and I read. (why yes, Little Blue Truck has been on repeat around here.)
  5. I tell them how much I love them and that I’m proud of them. Especially with my eldest, at night before lights out, I snuggle up and tell him all the things that make him wonderful. I want them to know I’m proud, not just of what they accomplish but also of who they are.
  6. I make mistakes and say I’m sorry about them. I try to model apologizing as often as possible.
  7. We plan to have adventures. We’re currently planning a trip to England, so we talk a lot about travel and where we’re going. We plan adventures together. I make sure to ask them what hike they’d like to go on next. I also talk about the trips we’ve taken in the past
  8. I cook dinner. And it’s usually tasty.
  9. I make them cute hand knit things to wear. Handwork is so important. There is nothing cuter than a baby decked out in clothes you’ve made yourself.
  10. I love my husband. I think this is super important. Someday these kiddos are going to have relationships of their own. I want my example to be a good one. I try to actively love my husband. I try to tell him that I love him as often as possible. I wouldn’t be the mom I am if it wasn’t for him. He’s such a great Dada to our kiddos. I’m strengthened by his presence and want my kids to know it.
  11. I take time for myself. I am a better mom when I: workout, eat healthier, go on hikes, meditate, go on women’s retreats, hang out with my sisters, talk with my mom, and have girl time with my friends. I don’t do all these things at once and I balance them with the time I pour into my kiddos. When I take a small amount of time for myself I have so much more energy for them.img_5598

Motherhood isn’t easy. There are a lot of things I struggle with (dishes I’m looking at you). Making it a priority to be there for my kids is a challenge some days and a breeze others. As I read through what others have said I realized how much we all give to our kids on a daily basis. Celebrating our accomplishments is time well spent.

Thanks to Stephanie at Antler & Gills for tagging me. I’m currently in the process of tagging people, so I’ll update this post when I have them.

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

