The Peace of Wild Things

Hike 34 was a special trip. We drove 3.5 hours up to Tomahawk, WI for a segment of the Ice Age Trail. The Harrison Hills segment boasts the highest elevation on the Ice Age Trail, and the second highest elevation in Wisconsin. One of the things that I’ve learned about hiking, it isn’t all about mountains. I say this as someone who loves mountains. However, if we only ever value mountains, what does that say about all the rest of the hiking we do?

img_4095I think it’s so easy as a parent to get wrapped up in the mundane. It takes a special person to make it all worth it. This guy right here has been amazingly supportive of all the hiking I’ve been doing, and all the dishes that haven’t been done.

img_4124This hike was hilly. I’m still feeling the aches in my hips. I’m not quite ready to go climb mountains yet. I ended up carrying someone almost the entire route. Surprisingly, I ended up carrying Graham more. I expected he’d want to walk since we were with his buddies, but a bad nap timing meant he just wanted to snuggle.

img_4102We met the trail coordinator for the Lincoln County chapter of the Ice Age Trail Alliance. Graham ended up walking about 1.5 of the 7 miles. Warren had a hard time with the trail. While the trail was well maintained, it was quite narrow and uneven, making it difficult for his little feet. We gave our hand-me-down Kelty a try and we didn’t love it. Our friend let us try her Deuter Kid Comfort 3, which was super nice. Elliot still thinks he preferred the SSC we’ve been using, so we might stick with that.

img_4114Overall, it was a great hike. We had expected 6 miles, so it was longer than expected and the hills made it feel longer. I’m so glad we went. It sometimes feels like a huge risk to drive so far to a hike that the kids may or may not cooperate with. 15065084_10154467672706558_151721011_oIt’s worth it.

Everytime. Even when it goes south. Because when it goes well, it is nothing short of amazing.

Total Mileage: 73.8

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free. -Wendell Berry

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes, Raising Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

