Fall a scrimage of yellow leaves today

Hike 28

I find it satisfying to return to hikes. I don’t always love to do the same hike every week. But I do enjoy a “seasonal check in” if you will. The last time we walked the plantation path at Lapham Peak State Park, I was concerned about how much Graham would walk. I brought the stroller. He ended up walking a lot of the path. That was earlier this summer. img_3308

Look at who was the walker this time! It’s so exciting to see how mobile and active he is. The stroller barely got any use as both boys were self-powered. What a difference that makes in my life. It’s teasing me with glimpses of our lives as the boys get more and more independent. What a thrill as a mom! img_3311

 

Thanks to a friend, there is a small obsession with fungus in our house. img_3312

Pine forests have a special place in my heart. It has a lot to do with how muffled sounds become and how aromatic the needle floors are.

Total Mileage: 53.8

Fall a scrimage of yellow leaves today
All over Lincoln Park
Like the mask of the Yellow Mule who travels between the next
      world and Tibet inside its house of glass in the Field
      Museum by the lake. -Paul Carroll
About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

