Perhaps the truth…

IMG_6731On June 28th (wow, I’m really behind!) we went on hike 14. This hike was a first for me. We went to Lulu Lake State Natural Area. It was a first because the hike started at 6 and the boys’ bedtime is 7. I knew we’d be blowing that out of the water, but ultimately decided it was worth it.IMG_6732

We walked about 3.5 miles. The path had not been tended to for quite a while. We really had to trek. Luckily Elliot was able to join me, because this was definitely not toddler friendly. We made it to the lake and let the kids stand and play in the mud. The sun was setting and the light was pretty much perfect. Bug repellent was definitely a must.

13528842_10206280543784754_4690126475377571233_nIt was a hike that made me feel so refreshed. It was work, but the best kind of work. The boys slept great that night. Sometimes, even when we do things for ourselves as parents, it works out for everyone. I’m so glad I took the chance and did something out of my comfort zone.

Total Mileage: 22.5

“Perhaps the truth depends on a walk around the lake.” ~Wallace Stevens

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

