Au milieu de l’hiver, j’ai découvert en moi un invincible été

This hike was hike 11 at 1.75 miles at Havenswood State Forest. I am both simultaneously proud of this hike and frustrated. This hike was in partnership with Climb Out of the Darkness. Climb Out of the Darkness is an event sponsored by postpartum progress to raise awareness about maternal mental health issues. This hike was a personal challenge for me. I’ve struggled with depression during and after my pregnancies. If you ask me what I really want, it’s to feel whole and happy.IMG_6400

I’ve worked really hard to get into a good place. To be honest though, I’m tired of how much work it takes to stay in that place. I want so very much to have that part of my life in the past. I want to not have to worry that it will creep back up on me.IMG_6402

I’m so grateful to my wonderful family who support me. My parents and sisters have always been there for me. I’m grateful to my husband and kiddos, who show me daily how much fun my life can be. My sister-in-law Dawn was awesome and came on this hike with us. We got a bit lost and ended up doing more miles than the 1 mile loop, but we had a great time.IMG_6403

I think ultimately we have so much choice and so much to value and be grateful for. I’m determined to be special, not because of an illness, however temporary, but by what I can accomplish for myself. Hiking has helped me really focus on being healthier in mind and body. It’s opened me up to a way of life that values the things I value. I want to be happy and healthy and am so grateful that hiking is helping me get there.

Total Miles: 23.75

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.”
-Albert Camus

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

