I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore

It was easy, at the beginning to find the time, space and coordination to hike. However, after April we had a string of illnesses and family events and the hiking got pushed to the side. We still went on neighborhood walks. We had a family vacation in Florida with lots of time spent in the sunshine. We didn’t have a lot that was hike-worthy though; instead there were lots of sort little hikes for toddler feet. Plenty of time spent poolside, beach side, and in our own lawn.IMG_6141

I’m calling this hike 8. It’s really more of a stroll, since Graham rode the whole time. We walked the Milwaukee Lakefront Trail. We did almost 4 miles. The weather was just perfect. Breezy, Sunny, and a bit cool. A refreshing change from yesterday’s highs. My goal is to get out on an actual trail this weekend. We have some catching up to do.

I think it’s important to balance needs within our family, so today simply the goal to get outside, even in an admittedly urban environment trumped our need of refuge from society.

Total Mileage so far: 18

“I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core
” -William Butler Yeats

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

