Walking gets the feet moving,

Hike 7 was a truly special hike for me. My Mother’s Day gift from Elliot & the boys was a hike in the woods with a dear friend. The care and guardianship of children can be simultaneously exhilarating and exhausting. I have found that it is so important to retreat occasionally. It is these moments of renewal that allow me to be a better mother and caregiver. I can reflect on what I’m doing correct, make plans on things to change, talk to others who are going through this stage with me, in short: critically examine my life and have a lot of fun at the same time!IMG_5812

Jessica & I walked a partial segment of the Ice Age Trail, the Parnell Segment. Afterwards we climbed the observation tower. It was so wonderful. I hardly knew where my feet were going. IMG_5809

 

It is such a privilege to share this mothering journey and hiking journey with friends who understand and appreciate the day to day life. I’m so thankful to Elliot for his gracious offer to recharge. Jessica and I walked about 5 miles on the Parnell segment, from the north end. It was a perfect day for it.IMG_5810

 

 

Total Mileage so far: 14.75

Walking gets the feet moving, the blood moving, the mind moving. And movement is life. ~Terri Guillemets

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

