Yes; I was tired, but not at heart;

IMG_5603Hike 3 is in the books. We went to the Bristol Woods County Park in Bristol, WI. The weather held out and only started raining once we were back in the car and having snack.

IMG_5602

We were joined by my sister-in-law Emily and her two sons, Russell and Simon. Both Graham and Russell walked the whole loop, about 1.5 miles. The boys loved throwing rocks into the little stream, finding trail markers, carrying sticks, and searching for pine cones.

IMG_5600Including my extended family in our hiking has been a lot of fun so far. I’m hoping it nurtures a deeper connection and helps us to grow closer together. Graham really loves spending time with his cousin, and it’s so fun to see the boys grow up together. Soon, Warren and Simon will be rambling with them, and then Emily & I will have to be fleet of foot.

The boys napped in the car on the way home. Always a sign of a great hike. Total mileage for the challenge so far: 6.23 miles.

Yes; I was tired, but not at heart;
No­, that beats full of sweet content,
For now I have my natural part
Of action with adventure blent;
Cast forth on the wide world with thee,
And all my once waste energy
To weighty purpose bent.  
-Charlotte Bronte

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

