I will be the gladdest thing under the sun

Hike #2 is completed. It was a 3.73 mile loop around Lake Defiance at Moraine Hills State Park in Illinois. It was significantly hotter and sunnier today than our previous hike. IMG_5467I was joined by Elliot, my sister Kate and my sister-in-law Dawn. It was really nice to have the adult companionship. Elliot was able to carry Graham when he got tired, which was really nice for me. Tandem carrying the boys brings me to about 55 pounds of extra weight, so I tend to avoid doing it. I haven’t done a lot of strength training, so I try to be really careful, since I don’t want to hurt my back. Graham walked a good portion of the walk himself, about 2.5 miles.IMG_5471

It was a lovely second hike. This park is really close to my in-laws and we spent a lot of time wondering why we never had come here before. The lake itself is a glacial lake and one of the least undeveloped glacial lakes in Illinois. The trail itself was a mixture of pavement and crushed gravel. The trail ran quite close to the road in some places and the last half mile or so of the trail was pretty crowded.IMG_5468

Mileage total for the challenge 4.73 miles.

Lessons learned so far: Bring a hat and Warren needs sunscreen

I will be the gladdest thing under the sun! I will touch a hundred flowers and not pick one -Edna St. Vincent Millay

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

