Make the Earth Your Companion

I’ve started the 52 hike challenge. I’m really excited about it. It’s part of my overall goal to improve my physical health.

Hike #1 Retzer Nature Center in Waukesha, WI

IMG_5417

 

 

Yesterday was my first hike of the challenge, though definitely not my first hike. I walked one mile. Graham walked the whole mile and probably added more to that with all the back and forth of being a toddler. I carried Warren in my stretchy wrap. I think it might be the last time for that wrap as Warren was definitely able to break out with back arching. He is getting a bit heavy for it anyway.IMG_5418

 

Overall I’m pleased with how this hike went. I never got warm, but it was also toddler led, so I wasn’t really expecting to get a work out. Graham really enjoyed being with the other toddlers and the Retzer Nature Center was well done. The fish tanks indoors and th compost bins outside were easily the most entertaining parts of the hike for Graham. It will be enjoyable to go back as the seasons progress and see the changes.

IMG_5419

I’m already planning my next hike.

Make the Earth your companion.
Walk lightly on it, as other creatures do.
-J. Patrick Lewis

About Heidi

I'm a hiking, camping, reading, writing and cooking mom to two crazy boys. I love to knit in my free time.
This entry was posted in Hikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

