Happy Tolkien Reading Day

Today: I love me a good random holiday. Apparently today is Tolkien Reading Day. This makes me ridiculously happy. I’m planning to read some Tolkien to GEC before his nap times. My personal favorite is the Lay of Luthien from the Silmarillion, which is a fantastic read. I think it really gives you a huge idea of just how much thought and effort went into the writing and creating of the world.

GEC & I  have been taking more walks lately. Spring may not officially be here yet, but I’m done with being homebound.IMG_7866Fun Food: I’ve been working on expanding my cooking repertoire. To that end I’ve tried 4 new recipes this past month. 3 were gluten free. I’m starting to be a bit more conscious of the amount of gluten that I eat. I’m not sure I need to cut it out, but I want to explore other grains and eating options.IMG_0948

  • The Perfect Potato Salad-delicious. Next time I’d add celery or pickles. It needed more crunch. And Salt. And Pepper.
  • The Roasted Carrot & Chickpea Salad- Doubled the amount of chicken called for. Could have easily taken it out though. Delicious.
  • Chicken Thighs Braised in Pomegranate Molasses (from Gluten Free Girl the book- I found a similar recipe on her website, but she obviously did some tweaking before putting it in the book)
  • Irresistible Irish Soda Bread- obviously good- though different than the other recipe I usually make for St. Patrick’s Day.

Listening to: We Shall Be Free by Garth Brooks.

About jlseldon7

I have dance parties when I'm feeling sad. I love chocolate, brownies, hot chocolate, and hot fudge. I sing in the shower. I knit. I love flying and travel. I'm married to one great guy and have one adorable kid
This entry was posted in Food, Raising Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

